• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Tim Duncan Retires after 19 Years in NBA

Not surprising this is how he chooses to do it, no press conference, no good-bye tour. Just a simple announcement. Its the same way he announced he was coming back after his junior year at Wake. Always a class act and never one to want the spotlight.

Was a pleasure to watch him play for four years at WFU and to be able to say I graduated in the same class as he. My interest in the NBA just diminished greatly.

http://www.nba.com/spurs/tim-duncan

Nineteen seasons. Five rings. One team.

Duncan has led the Spurs to the best winning percentage in sports over the past two decades. On Monday, he announced his retirement.

Behind Duncan, the Spurs have reached the playoffs in every one of his 19 seasons and won 50 or more games in the past 17 seasons, the longest streak in NBA history.

Duncan is a two-time NBA MVP, 15-time All-Star, 15-time All-NBA selection and 15-time All-Defensive team selection. He holds Spurs records for points, blocks and rebounds.

Coach Gregg Popovich and Duncan began building trust shortly after Duncan was drafted, as Pop went to St. Croix to meet with his newest player for a few days. They swam and spoke about life rather than basketball.

"I really cherish that time," Popovich said to Sports Illustrated in 2012. "It was like an instant respect and understanding of each other. Almost like we were soul mates."

2007/ Photo by Andrew D. Bernstein, NBA

They have referred to their relationship as kind of a marriage, and Duncan’s openness to coaching set a standard for the rest of the team. Superstar treatment in San Antonio meant listening to Pop.