• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Happy Appy wants to go bowling

Good move for App State

• Yes

Votes: 13 24.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 37.7%
  • Indifferent

Votes: 18 34.0%
  • Doofus/Numbers

Votes: 2 3.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
First of all...I am dizzy after reading that article. Talk about writing in circles.

Second, as an App grad I think this is a terrible idea. All you have to do is look at Marshall. I am not sure if their football program makes more money now in 1A (it probably does) but the atmosphere is not there any more. When I was at App they played in the SoCon. I went up to Marshall to watch us play them when they were #1 in the nation (we won BTW) and that was one of the best college football environments I have ever been in...and I have been to most big football schools in the SE. I saw Marshall play a game on ESPN this year and the stadium was half empty. That is because their games are meaningless now. Even if they have a very good season they are only going to go to some two bit bowl that no one will care about. As a fan I think it is better to stay in 1AA and compete for a National Championship every year.

The only way I think this is a good idea is if the BCS schools form their own supper division. If that happens I could see App moving up and being competitive.

Ah but maybe the entry of UNC-Charlotte into football makes App want to move up. Seems to me that if they stay in the lower division, they will end up being the red-headed stepchild of the UNC system for football. Who knows, once the super conferences form, maybe they are afraid ECU and UNC-C will take a spot that they could get if they moved up...

To:the App grads out there