• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

North Carolina BBall & FBall Players Can't Read Very Well

"We don't hire them to go to class. We want 'em to win championships."

The response from butthurt UNC fans is going to be epic. I've got my popcorn ready.

Unfortunately it's not just Carolina. I am a middle school teacher. I see how kids get passed to the next grade without even being able to write their own names. Our educational institution is so ass backwards here. You would be amazed at what you see on a day to day basis as a teacher. In other countries, if a student doesn't master the material they hold them back until the master it. Here, it doesn't matter. They are moving on to the next grade NO MATTER WHAT.

LOL at UNC. This stuff blowing up nationally has been a long time coming for them. If the NCAA won't punish them, having the "Carolina Way" absolutely destroyed is nearly as good.

Unfortunately it's not just Carolina. I am a middle school teacher. I see how kids get passed to the next grade without even being able to write their own names. Our educational institution is so ass backwards here. You would be amazed at what you see on a day to day basis as a teacher. In other countries, if a student doesn't master the material they hold them back until the master it. Here, it doesn't matter. They are moving on to the next grade NO MATTER WHAT.

I used to teach in secondary school away back when. I remember the same problem. The solution: flunk 'em, if they don't learn the material. For many it will come as a shock. That's life. Sooner or later everyone has to confront wake-up time. They wont get serious about studying unless they see that you are serious.