• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Leverage in negotiating $18 million buyout

Ralph Medlin

Reaction score
Many of you are far better negotiators than I am. I do not do it for a living, just for things like homes, cars, etc...

But I do know assessing and acting on leverage is the foundation of good negotiating. SO I ask you this...What in the hell kind of leverage did Danny Manning have to negotiate an $18 million buyout? I mean coming off a first four flop you would think the number would be a year's salary.

Are you really willing to chalk it up to Wellman's stupidity?

Please enlighten me.

If this question has been answered on another thread feel free to delete this after providing a link to it.

I just want to hear from some of Wake's finest - maybe even an agent - who can enlighten me as to how a mediocre coach negotiates a buyout equal to the full term of his contract.

I gotta doubt the veracity of the $18 million buyout story line unless somebody can explain the lunacy.

My best theory is that Wellman and the powers that be were 100% convinced Manning was going to be a great coach and Kansas would snap him up at the first opportunity. So Wellman figured he would get enough to cover the next coach’s salary.

So Wellman manufactured the leverage for Manning?

Just throwing Wake's money away? Because surely Manning didn't perceive he had that kind of leverage. Wow. I wonder how long that negotiation took? two seconds?