• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

If my job was my life? For 12 months?

I work for a 4000+ company and the folks who work the hardest rarely get ahead, more than adding a "Sr. to their title, i.e. Sr. Business Analyst. Plus, that becomes their rep and people then expect you to work that much.

Its those folks who get shit done, lead, take risks, make decisions when no one else does, etc. that get "ahead".

Truer words have never been spoken/typed.

I was thinking this same thing. Folks that end up in upper management typically didn't bust their asses for one year, then go on cruise control for the rest of their lives.

I've been a business analyst, and I've been an entrepreneur. If you're going to do it, don't do it as a BA. Start your own damn company, or at least do the independent consulting gig so you can get paid for all of the hours you plan to be working.

This. Don't kill yourself for someone else to get a marginally better salary and title.

If I was in your position, I would take the spare time and energy to develop an idea/business plan. Work on it on the side until you're ready to run it full time. Then cut the company cord and be your own boss.

You should do this beginning today, then report back to us your results one year from now. This is what we want.

There are a few questions you should answer.