• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Job leads/advice for Junior Programmer - NC or SC

Jroc25

Reaction score
I just finished this code school in Durham: http://theironyard.com/academy/

I studied Rails Engineering. Incidentally, the current Rails instructor in Durham is Mason Mathews, also a Wake grad ('02). His wife went to Wake too.

As of 8 months ago, I am 100% new to web development. I'm pretty comfortable with Ruby/Ruby on Rails at this point. I've been gradually improving my JavaScript, Java, Python, PHP, CSS, jQuery, and AngularJS. Back-end development interests me more (experienced with MySQL), but I'm really looking for anything Junior.

I'm in Durham now but will relocate anywhere in NC or SC. My background is finance-based. Statistical programming with R naturally interest me.

Any advice on what languages or frameworks I should be learning now?

Are you familiar with code schools? Do you think they're legit?

Any advice or job leads (!!) would be greatly appreciated.

I just finished this code school in Durham: http://theironyard.com/academy/

I studied Rails Engineering. Incidentally, the current Rails instructor in Durham is Mason Mathews, also a Wake grad ('02). His wife went to Wake too.

As of 8 months ago, I am 100% new to web development. I'm pretty comfortable with Ruby/Ruby on Rails at this point. I've been gradually improving my JavaScript, Java, Python, PHP, CSS, jQuery, and AngularJS. Back-end development interests me more (experienced with MySQL), but I'm really looking for anything Junior.

I'm in Durham now but will relocate anywhere in NC or SC. My background is finance-based. Statistical programming with R naturally interest me.

Any advice on what languages or frameworks I should be learning now?