• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

TV recommendations?

redwing42

Reaction score
My old plasma is finally giving out, so I'm in the market for a new TV. Space constraints limit me to around a 43" screen. I'm leaning towards a Samsung (maybe a QLED if I can talk my wife into it), but does anyone have any particular suggestions?

I'm no expert, but at that size I think I'd just get a 4k ultraHD with HDR. Then pick a leading high-quality brand. And look at the features you want or don't (number of HDMI inputs, analog audio out, etc.).

I've been really happy with my Sony that's not even 4k or HDR. When friends/neighbors come by they think it looks better than theirs (which are fancier in some ways). I've read that Sony puts a fair amount of effort/expense into their processors. I can tell you there's definitely more to it than the headline specifications. I recently bought a cheap brand "4k ultraHD with HDR" (for a basement room) and it does not have near as good a picture as my older regular HD Sony.

OLED is all the rage (or maybe the Samsung QLED). You'd have to decide for yourself if the extra cost is worth it.

Good luck, enjoy.

I’ve had several Samsung TVs and always been very pleased.

I've been reading great reviews about the TCL Roku TVs. A lot of bang for the buck apparently.

I've been reading great reviews about the TCL Roku TVs. A lot of bang for the buck apparently.

I'll second this...got one a few months ago and its great. The setup is so easy to go from cable to roku to video games, etc.

We have a Roku stick that we use on the current TV, so I was curious about the quality on those TCLs.

I'll second this...got one a few months ago and its great. The setup is so easy to go from cable to roku to video games, etc.