• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Trip to Italy

Wake95

Reaction score
Total newbie here to European travel. Have always wanted to travel to northern Italy to see where my acestors are from (Lake Como area). Any recommendations would be appreciated (ie time of year to go, where to fly into, how to get around, where to stay, side trips). We will be traveling with pre-teen kids. We r not into the touristy scene. Would just like to relax and immerse ourselves in Italian life. Possible side trip up into Switzerland?

I don't know how much time you have or if you're even interested in spending a few days in central Italy, but my family and I (including 2 pre-teens) visited Rome, Naples, Perugia and Assissi last month. Rome is a must-see at some point in your life but it would take about a week to experience Rome. I found Perugia to be absolutely beautiful and charming, far more so than I expected. If you had an extra couple of days, I'd recommend getting flying into Perugia and taking side-trips to Assissi and Spoleto while you're there.

Total newbie here to European travel. Have always wanted to travel to northern Italy to see where my acestors are from (Lake Como area). Any recommendations would be appreciated (ie time of year to go, where to fly into, how to get around, where to stay, side trips). We will be traveling with pre-teen kids. We r not into the touristy scene. Would just like to relax and immerse ourselves in Italian life. Possible side trip up into Switzerland?

my family is from Bari and I can tell you that's not where I was heading the first time I visited Europe (Italy)

Lake Como is well down the list of regions of Italy to visit to "immerse" yourselves in the Italian life, IMHO, ESPECIALLY if it's your first visit.

Last edited: