• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Ovations Out?

What type of exceptions?

My understanding is that the bidders were given numbers by the Athletic Depart, and those numbers were highly skewed and very hard to figure out. As PhDeac posted earlier, the Athletic Depart probably gave them the over inflated attendance numbers, but I'd also surmise that Casstevens expertise and experience in cooking the books came into play, as well.

If this is true, then Ovations really shouldn't be in this line of work if they can't figure out a bid. As a project manager, I prepare and send out bids to about a dozen contractors my company does business with, ranging in estimates anywhere from $100k to over a $1m. Each one of the projects is unique and I clearly identify the scope of the project and always clearly spell out to contact me with any questions. If Ovations didn't understand something, they should have clarified or not bid. I have seen contractors bid, and I will call them to double check they understand a few things, and even saying they do, when the project is underway, they will try to come back and ask for more money or they didn't know that something was included. I don't have any idea what the real problem is, but one guess would be that Ovations is trying to cobble together a crew weekly to staff the games and they are having issues.

My understanding is that the bidders were given numbers by the Athletic Depart, and those numbers were highly skewed and very hard to figure out. As PhDeac posted earlier, the Athletic Depart probably gave them the over inflated attendance numbers, but I'd also surmise that Casstevens expertise and experience in cooking the books came into play, as well.