• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

ATP: Advice for an Incoming Freshman at Wake

Reaction score
My younger cousin will be starting at Wake this fall and I'm having dinner with him tomorrow night. I graduated in 2009 and hope to advise him the best I can on making the most of his time at MSD. I want to ask you guys what advice you would give to someone about to enter Wake Forest?

If you had it to do over again what classes would you take (particularly classes open to freshmen)? What do you consider part of the full Wake Forest experience both on campus and around Winston-Salem? What's one thing you wish you had known going into school that you know now? Also, did anyone here play club hockey at Wake? My cousin has played all his life and pretty good player, but I don't know all that much about Wake's club team.

Thanks in advance for your input.

my biggest advice for a first semester freshman would be to not overestimate themselves. my high school started at 7:15, so i thought an 8:00 AM math class (so 4 days/week) would be totally do-able. high school is not like college. you will not go to bed at 10:00. schedule yourself realistically, at least for the first semester so that you can understand what your new life is like before adding in a lot of variables like super early classes.

If I had it to do over again I would have ended things with my hs gf immediately and been single all of college.

My roommate played club hockey. He was kind of fat and really out of shape, but had played his whole life and was decent compared to most of the team. One big problem he ran into was wear to keep his equipment- no way your roommate will allow that stinky shit in your room. He had to leave it in his car, which made his car smell HORRIBLE.