• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

ATP: Pickin' the Banjo

Deacon923

Scooter Banks
Reaction score
My mid-life crisis is manifesting itself in a need to get back in touch with my musical roots and learn to play the banjo. I have no experience with stringed instruments so I would be starting from scratch. My goals are modest, I just want to be able to pick up the chords, be able to strum and sing around a campfire. Any Pit posters pick the banjo? Have any thoughts on what kind of banjo I should consider buying? Lessons available in Greensboro?

All advice, snide comments, and rude tags welcome.

image.jpg

I have a similar question about the guitar. I have never played an instrument before but have been thinking of trying to pick up at least a rudimentary ability to play... I inherited a very nice Martin acoustic from my father and it just sits on display in my house - seems a pity not to play it. (My sister got his old Martin - a small model from the '50s. Mine was a newer vintage - I think he bought it in the '90s)

Are teach yourself / on-line types of programs available (I assume) - and, do they work? Is that a good way to start or are lessons really the way to go? Do I have to be able to read music?

As far as guitar goes, you don't have to be able to read music. Just start learning some simple chords and go from there. There are a billion guitar tab websites with simplified versions of songs broken down to really basic chord patterns. If you like that, you'll start picking up more complicated stuff on your own by trying to play songs you like in particular.

Id go with the guitar, 923. Banjos are for pickin, not strumming. And they are annoying as hell.

Guitar you'll be strumming chords and singing 'round the campfire in a few weeks