• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Court to DEA: Don't Point Gun at 11 YO's Head

1. Agree
2. Depends - this is something that is changing.
3. Also something that is changing.

What state are you in? Are you an attorney? I'd be interested to hear some examples and see how they are similar to or different from where I am.

Yes. Florida.

I take it you are in criminal defense? Does Florida have min/mans for simple possession (or for that matter do you ever see people getting sent to jail for simple possession)? What kinds of min/mans do you have for dealers?

I believe it is the government's responsibility to admit when it is wrong instead of covering its backside. I am not a lawyer but it seems it should not be a government's position that it will attempt to defend any action by its agents. The agents can get attorneys who can fulfill that part. Just admit your people screwed up.

One of the most outrageous aspects of the WOD is when the government confiscates private property than is alleged to be drug-related, finds it doesn't have a case and still makes the owner spend thousands of dollars to get the property back. Perhaps one of our WOD advocates can defend this.

I take it you are in criminal defense? Does Florida have min/mans for simple possession (or for that matter do you ever see people getting sent to jail for simple possession)? What kinds of min/mans do you have for dealers?

Well, I was a prosecutor for many years first before I left for private practice.