• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Does Anyone Regret Studying Abroad?

I regret not staying in one of the Wake Houses when I studied abroad. I did a wake program that had a homestay and then when I went with Wake abroad in grad school we stayed in the Flow House which was much better than being secluded in a house with host parents who I think were primarily housing me for the financial benefits of it.

i go back and forth on the house thing. i wanted to do a spanish-speaking country so that kind of took care of the question for me at the time, but even if wake had a 'madrid house' i think i'd still have selected the salamanca homestay. i LOVED salamanca and felt like i was much more immersed in the culture than if i'd just surrounded myself with wake kids 24/7. my madre and abuela weren't the most personable, but they liked me (and liked me far more than the japanese boy there at the same time... poor guy). that said, i am jealous of the friendships the houses allow you to make. i definitely got none of that from my experience.

I am glad I didn't do a Wake house. I wanted way more immersion since my German was good enough and wanted all of my classes to be in German.