• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

"Im Not A Scientist"- Not an excuse

ThinkingWithMyDeac

Reaction score
http://www.slate.com/articles/health_and_science/science/2014/10/i_m_not_a_scientist_excuse_politicians_don_t_need_to_be_experts_to_make.html

Thought this was interesting and definitely a problem. I never understood putting someone on the science and technology committee when they don't even think evolution is real.

"American populist rhetoric has always had a dark side of anti-intellectualism, the belief that the common sense of the average man on the street is equal to or greater than the expert knowledge of people who spend years studying a particular question, and that has been on full display in recent years. Who can understand what those weird, other-worldly scientists are talking about, anyway? Somebody needs to “stand up to the experts.”

Self-loathing scientists like pourdeac don't help.

Reminds me of what Hitler said when he assumed power, to the effect that he did not want experts around him because experts could only tell you why something would not work as opposed to generalist who did not know enough to tell you the pitfalls and just assumed something in their minds would work. Not to bright.

Reminds me of what Hitler said when he assumed power, to the effect that he did not want experts around him because experts could only tell you why something would not work as opposed to generalist who did not know enough to tell you the pitfalls and just assumed something in their minds would work. Not to bright.

Well, it sure as hell worked for him in the short term. Long term, not so much.

Call it for what it it - an excuse to stay close to fundamentalists and not sound like a science denier.