• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

NASA's Curiosity Rover - Touchdown confirmed. 21-0 Duke

TheTwinAndreBen

3 stacks
Reaction score
Sitting on top of an Atlas Rocket. Its got lazers and stuff too.

Watching the video though, the deployment of this thing looks VERY ambitious. There is a parachute and a 'crane' sequence where a hovering pod places the rover on the surface and then blasts away. I'm no engineer, but it seems like there has to be a better way to get our $1.5B investment to the ground.

http://www.theverge.com/2011/11/9/2549726/nasa-curiosity-mars-rover-explore-launch

Did you watch the video? The likelihood of it sucessfully freeing itself from the lander and getting to the ground safely seems very low imo. Seems like there are a trillion things that could go wrong with that overcomplicated process.

Did you watch the video? The likelihood of it sucessfully freeing itself from the lander and getting to the ground safely seems very low imo. Seems like there are a trillion things that could go wrong with that overcomplicated process.

Yeah, you'd be surprised at some of the immensely complicated distribution systems that NASA has used for various planet based probes.

They don't want to lose $1.5bn of valuable science any more than you do, so I can assure you that they've tested the shit out of the delivery platform.

Good use of tax dollars, IMO. I'm sure this project is on-time and under budget, too.

Because the expansion of the human race beyond our measly little planet isn't important ;)

It's about 30% over budget, but it is essentially on time.