• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Taxing Capital Gains

BillBrasky

#PSF
Reaction score
I'd like to have a discussion about the rate at which capital gains are taxed. I'm of the fundamental belief that the lower tax rate on long-term capital gains should be eliminated and that it should be equal to our normal federal income tax rate.

That being said, I'm open to disagreement, and would actually prefer to hear some opinions about why this exception is beneficial to our society.

I definitely do not claim to be an expert on the subject.

I am no expert at all, but lower cap gains on long-term (>1 year) holdings encourages people to invest and thereby strengthens our economy. Short-term gains are taxed at ordinary income rates.

I am no expert at all, but lower cap gains on long-term (>1 year) holdings encourages people to invest and thereby strengthens our economy. Short-term gains are taxed at ordinary income rates.

I do short and long term investments...agree 100% with the above poster...my short term trades are predicated on price movement rather than tax implications. Long term investments (6mos. & longer) also take advantage of dividends and projected price movement.

In a vacuum, I would be fine with capital gains being taxed at ordinary rates.

However, given the clusterfuck of Social Security solvency, taking away a major incentive for people to save for their own future would be an awful idea at this point in time. I guess if you said that you would take the additional funds gained from the increased tax and use them solely to fund social security I would be okay with it, but I don't trus the government to do that. The money would end up going to Obamacare or to bail out Chrysler again or to build a bunch of warplanes that we don't need.