• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Teach me to sports bet

drdeac

Reaction score
I would like to start betting a little on sports, but not that much because I'm still a grad student. However, I would bet I'm not the only one on this board who may wish they knew more about how this works.

Anyone would any good links or info on how to bet on sports online, (I would bet on CFB)?

Anyone been really successful at this?

1) Place bet on
2) ....
3) Immediately cancel bet and take the opposite position
4) Profit

Vegas is always right and always wins.

This was years ago, but I spent a week in Vegas and followed a friend's suggestion for college BB to take the visitor if the home team was favored by 3 or less. I made $20 bets on a handful of games each night,was up about $250 at the end of the week,and lost it all that Sunday on a single Super Bowl bet.

Bovada.lv

Good site, easy to use. You can bet games, halves, individual plays, and you can easily do parlays.

several years ago i was in the mgm grand in vegas. i walked up to the sports book and the exchange when like this

"give me 5 on wake forest to beat fla state."
"500 on wake forest to win vs fla state."
"uh... i mean 5 bucks."
<look of disgust. why are you wasting my time?>
<more disdain> "5... dollars... on wake forest to beat fla state..."

i should have bet the 5 hundy because wake won and i could have taken home 1500.

I had very high success for a number of years, and then the last season I bet online I lost my shirt.

First rule, and the hardest by far: never bet with your heart, one way or another.
2."Teasers are just that" they seem so easy and you normally lose