• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

1981 Deacon Basketball Team

LilburnDeac

Reaction score
In a thread on Packpride, one of their posters mentioned that he thought the 1981 WF bball team could have won the NCAA Championship. Another poster pretty much laughed at the idea.

It was the first WFU basketball team that I remember getting really excited about. I was too young to really remember Brown, Shellenberg, Griffin. And it was a complete team. Johnson and Helms at guard, Rogers and Morgan at forward, Johnstone at center.

I think that the '81 team was one of WF's best ever. It was definitely a Final Four quality team. We split 4 games with UNC and 2 games with UVa, both of who made the Final 4 that year.

I was a sophomore at Wake that season and that was one hell of a basketball team. Johnstone was the one center physical enough to bother Sampson. But I have to say I didn't think they had a shot at a NC.

It's possible. That team is ranked 6th in SRS (out of 273 teams) on basketball reference. Looks like it was a top 10 team for sure. What happened in that Memphis game? Was Memphis any good? Wake only took 40 shots in the entire game and scored 17 points in the second after going into the half up four. Did Memphis just hold the ball a little?

Also interesting is the fact that the shot clock was 45 seconds until the 93-94 season. I had NO idea that it was that recent that the clock went to 35 seconds. Just goes to show you how non-entrenched a lot of things everyone says are "tradition" really are.

I'm sure BKF can shed some light.