• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Introversion in the workplace- are introverts discriminated against?

HoosierDeac

Reaction score
OK, so was just talking to the bossman about my 2012 work performance- basically, on the main program I manage (I am a product marketing manager), I beat my 2012 profit plan by 81%, not 8.1% mind you, 81%. Yet the main focus of the discussion was about how I'm not 'well known' enough across the organization, that I need to be 'out there' interacting with folks from other departments, etc and 'seen as a thought leader', yadda yadda. All I can come back with in my head is, 'but but but I just beat my profit plan by eighty-freakin'-one percent'.
This has been a common theme in my career. I am an admitted introvert, and being 'out there' does not come naturally to me to say the least. Frankly, I think the numbers should speak for themselves, you give me a plan, I'll beat it, but over and over across multiple companies I've been dinged time and again for not being 'engaged' enough. It wears on me. I think I'm doing a good job, delivering profit, and apparently since I'm not the life of the party that eveyone knows, I'm not valued as an employee. It's made me often reflect on whether I'm just not suited for a corporate environment (or at least an American corporate environment) that favors extrovert behaviors and seems to discriminate/bias significantly against introversion. This has reared its head over and over and frankly I'm at wits end. Anyone else face this same sort of predicament?

being out there interacting with folks from other departments does mean you have to be the life of the party, IMO

being out there interacting with folks from other departments does mean you have to be the life of the party, IMO