• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Is the "individual mandate" a good idea?

meandmyuncleDeac

Reaction score
I realize that come tomorrow at this time the Court quite likely will strike down the so-called "individual mandate". As a lawyer, I understand the constitutional arguments that inform both sides of the issue. My question is simply this: Putting aside politics, the constitutional law, is the mandate a good or bad idea? Just askin'.

Be more specific. do you mean is it a good idea for heathcare or is it a good idea to expand the commerce clause this much?

We could have taken half of the stimulus and insured uninsured Americans for decades.

Instead, Obama rammed this silly thing down the throat of Congress using kickbacks and bribes all in an effort to get us eventually to a European style single payer system.

We're prob headed to a single payer system here anyways...

We could have taken half of the stimulus and insured uninsured Americans for decades.

Instead, Obama rammed this silly thing down the throat of Congress using kickbacks and bribes all in an effort to get us eventually to a European style single payer system.

Agreed. Take the tax cuts out of the stimulus and no need for the mandate.

Tax cuts made up a large percentage of the stimulus. Just combating the typical broad brush.

Absolutely false......well unless you wanted to get rid of the tax cuts and put all the public workers out of jobs and the other people who got jobs....of course then we'd have to pay billions in inemployment, food stamps and Medicaid....

We wasted $1T in Iraq that would have paid for the HC bill.

$1T over 10 years in Iraq would pay for just how much of the health bill do you reckon?