• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Meditation

Also, I find myself most often doing a modified meditation (I’ve never written this out before, so maybe it’s dumb but whatever) — I will lie on my couch with no screens/tvs/books/noise/activity for about half an hour. and this attracts my two dogs who will happily lie with me to be petted, which kinda acts as a fidget spinner type of outlet for the energy that makes it hard to get there mentally. I find this works for me to clear the head but idk if it technically counts?

I've tried meditating for like 15-20 minutes at a time and without fail I just fall asleep. I try to just spend 5 minutes with my eyes closed in the shower and breathe in and out (focusing on breathing itself) or before I go to bed (so it just fades into sleeping lol). Seems to help out

I want to enjoy and utilize meditation techniques but a lot of my anxiety is tied up in breathing stuff, and I don’t like calling attention to it or thinking too intimately about it. For whatever reason I immediately tie it to my own mortality and awareness of it.

But I do want some non therapy or yoga based methods for mindfulness that will help me slow down and be present and gain clarity and shit if anyone has any secrets

It’s expensive and hard to find but sensory deprivation or sound bath type immersive stuff is pretty great

I think I went about it in kind of the opposite way most people do in that first I tried to become more mindful and understanding, which led to more situations where I felt comfortable meditating