• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Official Pit Job Search/Employment Thread

Employed folks of the pit, I need some perspective. I'll try to keep this short and sweet, but it's really hard to fully describe.

For context, I'm a PhD student who opted to exit the constant turnover of teaching and research assistantships and seek the stability of a full-time job while I write my dissertation. In case any of you know me, yes I'm still working on this and also shut up. I was fortunate to land a well-paying job (at least for someone who has never made any real money) as a scientist at the university. I've been there a little under 6 months, 1/3 of which was routine onboarding.

The situation I've found myself in is this:
1) The team needs to produce a new round of deliverables by summer.
2) To do this, they need to use a coding pipeline that was last run in 2021. It has not been maintained since then.
3) The last person in my position is still around but has moved to another team. My supervisor was formerly in my position but never ran this pipeline.
4) Very important: Everything in this organization is bespoke and custom. All the pipelines, models, functions, etc. were built and maintained in-house. All of this code was written by someone in 2017, patched up to keep running by 2-3 people since then, and hasn't been overhauled ever. Google cannot help me.
5) There's a smattering of team-specific materials online but it's sporadic and hasn't been very well maintained. Organizational updates are also documented online but not in a way that's easy to follow. Mostly, people who have been around just "know things" from being there.