• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

The life of attorneys

DunkinDeacon

Blame Tuesdays
Reaction score
I know that there are many attorneys on the board and Wake is a breeding ground, so let's discuss. I've been practicing law for many years and am a partner at a top twenty firm in a big city. I have done well but increasingly recognize that the reward for being a solid attorney is always more work, it never ends and leaves most that I know either underemployed or always hoping or looking to find an alternative profession. Yet society still views doctors and lawyers as positions to be strived for from early days forward? Kids are told that these are positions to strive for in society. Odd. My view is that the practice of law is shrinking and clients are becoming more demanding (as they should be) every year, making the practice more challenging and time-consuming no matter what the size of your practice or practice area may be. What do others think about the practice of law at this point? Surely there are solid rewards for those who work hard and have support for clients, but that pool seems to be shrinking every year and the work and realization issues are palpable. Giant pain in the ass, if you ask me. thoughts?

I gave up the practice of law, in the traditional sense, 7 years ago. Best thing I've ever done.

I own a business. Our customers are lawyers and paralegals.

What do you do now?

a-team.jpg

Never understood phrases like "top 20 law firm." Do you honestly think you work at one of the 20 best firms in America?