• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

The Tragedy of the American Military

As far as I know everything the Atlantic publishes in print is free on their website. I have a subscription to the Economist which is pretty fiercely paywalled.

Your library might have a zinio subscription to the economist, but that is basically a pdf of the print edition and might not be as user-friendly as subscribing and using the website.

Your library might have a zinio subscription to the economist, but that is basically a pdf of the print edition and might not be as user-friendly as subscribing and using the website.

plus when you subscribe you get the Economist app with tablet and mobile friendly weekly download of the entire edition. Very much worth the price of admission.

In congressional testimony just before the Iraq War, General Eric Shinseki, then the Army’s chief of staff, said that many more troops might be necessary to successfully occupy Iraq than plans were allowing for—only to be ridiculed in public by Paul Wolfowitz, then Shinseki’s superior as the deputy secretary of defense, who said views like Shinseki’s were “outlandish” and “wildly off the mark.” Wolfowitz and his superior, Defense Secretary Donald Rumsfeld, ostentatiously marginalized Shinseki from that point on.

Between this and the ignored ("not received") request for Ranger troops in Tora Bora, there seems to have been a terrible lack of trust or communication in the early years of Iraq/Afghanistan between the top military brass and DoD.

That Americans are largely silent about this, the torture report, and the bill we'll be paying for the wars for generations to come, is pretty sad.