• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Driving Cross Country

DeaconSoDear

A.W. Hamilton
Reaction score
Who here has experience with this?

I have to decide in the coming weeks whether to drive cross country or ship my car and fly. I have never done a drive like this before and am worried I will get a couple of days into the trip and regret my decision if I try to drive it.

Any thoughts, advice, stories to share?

For reference I will be heading from San Jose to Charlotte.

I've done it. Did it over 4 days. made it from NC to just west of St. Louis, west of St. Louis to Denver, Denver to Twin Falls, ID, and then Twin Falls to Portland.

It wasnt the worst thing ever, but I don't plan to do it again. It was kind of cool to truly experience just how big our country is, but I was in the car with someone and we do car trips together really well. also lucked out in that we didn't hit any bad weather.
I feel like the route I took would be more interesting than what you'd do.

I did it with my dad 10 years ago, from Las Vegas to Connecticut. Not the best 3 day stretch of my life, but it wasn't too bad. The first day I made it to just before the Colorado/Nebraska border. Utah and CO were both very scenic, and I was amused that my little Sentra barely made it over the continental divide. At the end of day 2 I stopped in Gary, IN... Definitely the biggest mistake of the trip and probably doesn't require an explanation. Day 3 was the worst driving-wise though, with rock bottom being Ohio. It's a 55 mph limit the whole way, there were cops everywhere and there's nothing to look at.