• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Has anyone owned a Saab or a Lexus IS 250?

dirtydeac

Reaction score
I'm looking at buying a 2008 Saab 9-3. Anyone have any feedback? I have no experience with Saab cars....will the maintenance kill me?

Last edited:
run like hell. my wife bought a new saab in 2006, and the engine blew a valve 30,000 miles into it. warranty covered it, got it back and 3 months later transmission went out

i know i sound like an isolated incident, but after reading a lot of internet forums, i was not alone

run like hell. my wife bought a new saab in 2006, and the engine blew a valve 30,000 miles into it. warranty covered it, got it back and 3 months later transmission went out

i know i sound like an isolated incident, but after reading a lot of internet forums, i was not alone

Thanks for the feedback...I've been getting mixed responses but I really like the car. What type of Saab did your wife have?

I have a 2004 9-3 convertible and I love it. Maintenance isn't cheap, but it's expensive on any car these days.

I'm still driving a 2000 9-5. It's been a great car. 130,000 miles and very few problems. Almost time for a new clutch.

Maintenance on Swedish cars is fucking expensive. If you have the money and love the car, it's worth it for the luxury. I loved my Volvo while it ran, but couldn't afford the maintenance on pretty simple stuff.

Used to work at a Cadillac-Saab dealership. All the salesmen and maintenance workers would joke about why anyone would buy them. We moved quite a few, but the fight was over not getting stuck with a Saab demo.

I dated a girl that had two of them. She had one that was like 20 years old and then bought a 9-3 when she graduated from wake.