• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Lone Survivor

"I'd like to thank all the brave Pashtuns who saved my life"

I thought you meant something a little more specific. It's not like he didn't clearly indicate his appreciation in the book itself and it's not like any of them are likely to ever stumble across the acknowledgements themselves. Admittedly, I'm no expert on book acknowledgement etiquette.

i didn't think he was really that gracious, even in the narrative. meh, who cares

Hijack to original purpose.

WOW. What a powerful, awesome movie.

Extremely powerful. Watched it with one of my old buddies from my 09-10 Afghan deployment this past Friday. We both left the theater and didn't say a word for quite some time afterwards.

Extremely powerful. Watched it with one of my old buddies from my 09-10 Afghan deployment this past Friday. We both left the theater and didn't say a word for quite some time afterwards.

watched with my wife last week. being an army brat i have a different view/appreciation on the military than someone without those ties and i definitely was a little chocked up at the end. the 60 plus year old guy sitting beside me was clearly a vet and crying like someone who has lived it might.

Thought is was great sans two aspects:

1) By realistic and original accounts, the number of Taliban they faced were between 15-30, not even close to 200.
2) The two separate instances of them throwing themselves down 20-30 yard rocky cliffs, bouncing and flipping off boulders, then nearly immediately standing up to fight again. There was one broken ankle by one of them as a result. Not even close to realistic.