• Welcome to OGBoards 10.0, keep in mind that we will be making LOTS of changes to smooth out the experience here and make it as close as possible functionally to the old software, but feel free to drop suggestions or requests in the Tech Support subforum!

Weekly Law School Thread: Charleston

greekdeac2011

Reaction score
Okay Pit. I need some pure unbiased advice about my most recent dilemma. I have some gut feelings, but my parents are split on the issue and it isn't helping much since I still depend on them financially, for now. Here we go:

I graduated from Wake in May with a business/econ degree. I originally wanted to go to law school, but floundered around with double majoring and didn't do too well on the LSAT. I'm from Charleston and got into the law school there along with being wait listed at USC.

Does anyone know any grads from CHS Law? I've heard mixed reviews. The only practicing CHS Law grads in Charleston I know were all cum laude. The other employed attorney can't pass the bar and hence can't accept his employment offer until he does.

I have the opportunity and connection to work in Congress this fall and spring if I so choose to take it, so in my mind, I think doing that and retaking the LSAT would be the smartest route to take.

I know the legal job market is pretty crappy right now, especially for grads from lesser known schools like Charleston Law. Also, I will not be taking out loans to go to CHS Law, but I'm not sure the return on the $110,000 investment will be worth it, especially to become a glorified, over educated paralegal.

yeah do your congress thing next year and take the lsat again to see if you can get into a top 50 school. go if you can. if not, find something else to do with you life.

Manifest Destiny got like a half scholarship to Charleston but decided not to go. Isn't newly accredited, kind of like Charlotte?

IrishAnglerDan went to CSL. Since he is a bright dude I won't knock the school.